Building the top decking

IMG_0108IMG_0110IMG_0124After getting all the tops of the side timbers level, I made patterns for  the top decking down each side. I then cut it from 1/2″ ply. I also had to notch the cedar strip on the transom for the piece to lay in. When I had installed the rubrail, I had left it 1/2″ higher than the side timbers so the top deck would sit flush. I then came in and installed a splash guard around the inside perimeter of the top deck from treated (wet) 1×4’s. Being wet helps with the bending without breaking. The deck itself is at a 15 degree outward angle to help deflect water from the cockpit. The top deck is screwed together with 1 5/8″ composite screws into the top of each side timber and from the outside of the rubrail with 2 3/4″ screws. As always, all pieces were glued. If you notice the 2×2 sticking out of the rear motorwell, it’s the keel I installed. It’s screwed into the stem, then along the floor, and finally into the motor well box itself. After installing the top deck and the keel, the boat has really stiffened up. There will be (2) more 2×2 pieces installed on the bottom of either side of the motorwell after the fiberglass is laid on the bottom to keep the boat from skidding in a turn and to protect the bottom when beaching the boat. The model in the pics are my little girl who seems to have no trouble taking time away from her kindle to help me work on the boat.  🙂

1 thought on “Building the top decking

Leave a comment