Adding the bow cap and finishing the storage compartment

IMG_0082IMG_0100IMG_0101First I cut out the bow cap, wet it with a sponge, and screwed it down to shape it. I used wooden blocks so the screw wouldn’t pull through. After leaving it a week, I removed it the following weekend. I then cut out the bulkhead wall, cut out the rails for it to slide in, and mounted wood to the floor the fasten the wall to the floor. I then caulked and put wood putty in the holes. I coated the whole inside with a coat of epoxy and then painted the inside with 2 coats of primer and 3 coats of marine paint. I figured it would be easier to finish the inside before I put it all together. The unfinished triangle in the front of the boat was coated in epoxy and will be filled with floatation foam after it is assembled. Didn’t care what it looked like as this is the last time it will ever see daylight. I went ahead and pulled the wire for the bow light also. After getting everything ready, I coated all exposed wood to be assembled with epoxy. Then I glued and screwed everything together to complete this part.

Leave a comment