Shaping up the top decks for painting

IMG_0132IMG_0133IMG_0134

After getting the side decking in, I moved to the transom ends, cut them with a jigsaw, and used a sander to get the final shape. I then moved to the bow to install another splash guard and pie shaped piece to mount the bow light on. If you notice, I also added another piece of ply to the front of the motor box and shaped the top. Once everything was puttied with plastic wood and sanded, I applied two coats of epoxy to the top decks. I then coated the floor, motor box, and 6″ up the sides with epoxy just to waterproof the floor. After everything had dried, I sanded all surfaces to ready for primer. Before I start though I am going to mix epoxy with a filler and white color to caulk all the seams. I did go ahead and prime under the decking to make it easier before I got everything assembled. Slowly but surely this thing is starting to take shape. I have to make myself slow down sometimes to make sure that I do everything a step at a time.(Especially since I don’t have instructions) Trying hard not to rush it, cause man i’m ready to go fishing!

Leave a comment