Got outboard for boat, finishing motor well

IMG_0033  IMG_0046     IMG_0037   After building the motorwell I installed a rubrail made from treated pine. To form the shape of the boat, I first attached it at the stem and bent it to shape as I went back.(buy wet treated wood and it helps with the bending and dries into shape) I did this with a winch strap to pull it tight and a floor jack to push it up. I attached it by screwing composite 3″ screws through the rubrail, plywood side, and into the side timbers. And of course, I used glue. Where the sides meet the bottom, I also cut the chime logs to help strengthen the connection between the bottom and sides. Later on I will add 1/4 round trim to each piece to help give it a finished look. As always, all pieces were coated in epoxy before being screwed together.

After looking at the motorwell, it didn’t look strong enough. I strengthened it by framing it with 2×2 treated timbers. I got the motor I am going to use. It’s a 82  35hp Johnson. I stuck it on the boat to have a look and noticed I had more space between the clamp than what I thought. If you look you will see a small piece of plywood I used to see if I could add another sheet to the front. It worked so I will be adding another sheet to further strengthen the box

Leave a comment